Skip to main content

ENG 214: American Literature II: Home

Searching for Books

BOOKS ARE A GREAT CHOICE WHEN YOU NEED:

  • A broad overview of a topic or event
  • Background or historical information
C/W MARS

Suggested Books

POETRY CRITICISM

Poetry for Students - Ref PN1101 P756
BEST BET FOR POETRY. Includes an introduction to the poem and the author; the text of the poem; themes; literary techniques; and historical context. Check the last volume for a Cumulative Author/Title Index.

Poetry Criticism - Ref PN1010 P499
Provides biographical information and critical excerpts on many of the most frequently studied poets.

SHORT STORY CRITICISM

Short Stories for Students - Ref. PN3373 .S3844
BEST BET FOR SHORT STORIES. Each entry contains a plot summary, characters and themes, brief author biography, the story's cultural and historical significance and excerpted criticism. Also includes information on any media adaptations of the story.

SSC: Short Story Criticism - Ref PN3373 S386
This multi-volume set introducees the major writers in the short story genre. Organized by author with a cumulative index at the end of the set.

NOVELS/LONGER FICTION

Novels for Students - Ref PN3365 N68
BEST BET FOR NOVELS. Entries include historical and literary context, themes, plot and characters and analysis of the novel's literary construction.

DRAMA RESOURCES

Drama for Students - PN1601 D595
BEST BET FOR DRAMA. Includes a play overview, brief playwright biography, plot summary, annotated character list, themes and criticism.

eBooks

Gale Literary Index

Literary Databases & Videos

DATABASES: To find current or very specific information on a topic, try the library's databases.

CREDO Reference: Literature

Credo Logo

Start your research with reference guides to historical and contemporary authors, their times, and their works.

PLEASE CONTACT US IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS

Mount Wachusett Community College Home Page

Circulation Desk 978-630-9125 Email the Circulation Desk
Research Help Desk 978-630-9338 Email the Research Help Desk
Academic Support Center 978-630-9333 Email the Academic Support Center
LIVE CHAT ASSISTANCE is available during regular LIBRARY HOURS.